Nigerian Docs UK💬 WhatsApp us

Nigerian Passport Renewal in Birmingham and the West Midlands

By Nigerian Docs UK · Facts last verified against official sources on 2 October 2026

Summary

There is no Nigerian embassy or consulate in Birmingham. Outside intervention exercises, routine renewals need a biometric appointment at the Nigeria High Commission, 9 Northumberland Avenue, London WC2N 5BX, where submissions run from 9:00am to 1:00pm. As checked by Nigerian Docs UK on 2 October 2026, Birmingham is not a venue in the October 2026 intervention exercise, and eligible adults can use contactless renewal instead of travelling.

Independent coordination service. Not the Nigeria High Commission, NIS or NIMC. Official fees are paid to the government directly, and you can complete the process yourself using the official portals linked below.

Is there a Nigerian embassy or consulate in Birmingham?

No. Nigeria is represented in the United Kingdom by the Nigeria High Commission in London, often called the Nigerian embassy in London. The UK government's list of consular offices outside London, updated on 1 October 2026, includes offices in Birmingham for Bangladesh, India, Pakistan and Romania, but has no Nigerian entry in Birmingham or anywhere else. The government's October 2026 list of honorary consuls has no Nigerian entry either.

The Nigeria Immigration Service (NIS) asks Nigerians abroad to submit passport applications at the nearest Nigerian embassy, high commission or consulate, which for anyone in Birmingham or elsewhere in the West Midlands is the High Commission at 9 Northumberland Avenue, London WC2N 5BX. The alternatives, intervention exercises and contactless renewal, are explained below.

The 2021 Census recorded 5,946 usual residents of Birmingham who were born in Nigeria, out of 1,144,919 residents, and 19,911 across the West Midlands region. The count is by country of birth, so it does not include children born in the UK to Nigerian parents.

In a notice dated 11 September 2026 about publications on the intervention fees, the High Commission advised the public to disregard any information not communicated through its authorised channels. The December 2025 venues and both phases of the 2026 exercise were announced on the High Commission's homepage, which is where to confirm a venue or date.

Is there a Nigerian passport intervention in Birmingham in 2026?

No. A passport intervention exercise is an additional round of biometric enrolment that NIS runs with the High Commission at announced venues for a fixed period. The High Commission's notice for Phase 1 of the 2026 exercise, as it stood on 14 September 2026, listed London, Manchester, Cardiff and Aberdeen. Phase 2 runs from 6 to 30 October 2026 in the same four cities, and the Phase 2 booking form, read on 2 October 2026, offers only those four centres.

The Phase 2 venues are Nigeria House, 23 Platt Lane, Manchester M14 5NE; 56-57 Fleet Street, London EC4Y 1JU; the Western Leisure Centre, Ely, Cardiff CF5 5HJ; and the Hilton Convention Centre, 13 Smithfield Road, Aberdeen AB24 4NR. Appointments are booked through the Phase 2 form linked from the High Commission's notice, which asks for your passport payment application number and reference number. The form warns that choosing two locations or booking two separate dates can invalidate an appointment, and it advises families to register every member, including children.

The Phase 2 notice lists what every applicant must bring, including the old passport booklet (mandatory for reissues, renewals and changes of data), a £20 postal order or e-payment (£150 for a lost, misplaced or damaged passport) and a prepaid Royal Mail C4 Special Delivery envelope addressed to yourself. Our guide to the intervention exercise sets out the full list, the September changes and the fee refund.

Birmingham was an intervention venue in December 2025

The High Commission's Passport Intervention Exercise of December 2025 included Birmingham. Its notice listed RCCG (CRA) Perry Barr, 42 Lozells Road, Birmingham B19 2TH, from 3 to 5 December 2025, 10:00am to 5:30pm, alongside Manchester on the same dates and Cardiff, Glasgow, Swansea and Aberdeen in the days that followed. Applicants were asked for a £40 postal order to the High Commission, and the notice said anyone who had applied and held an appointment date could attend the nearest location.

That exercise has ended, and the Lozells Road venue is not part of the 2026 exercise. As of 2 October 2026, the High Commission's website announces no further dates for Birmingham. Intervention exercises are occasional rather than annual; the recent rounds took place in December 2025 and in September and October 2026.

Renewing at the High Commission in London from Birmingham

For a routine renewal you apply and pay on the NIS international passport portal, then book a biometric slot on the NIS appointment portal. Submissions at 9 Northumberland Avenue run from 9:00am to 1:00pm. The UK government's October 2026 London Diplomatic List gives the Immigration Section's hours as Monday to Friday, 10:00 to 13:00. The two sources differ on the start time but agree that submissions close at 1:00pm, so plan the journey from Birmingham to arrive well before then.

A routine renewal normally needs only one journey to London. The High Commission says there is no physical collection once biometrics are taken, and the passport is posted back in the Royal Mail Special Delivery envelope you bring, which requires a signature on delivery. If Royal Mail cannot deliver it, for example because nobody is in to sign, the passport returns to the High Commission and its returned-passport list asks the holder to collect it in London. Giving a return address where someone will be available to sign reduces the risk of a second journey to London.

The High Commission's list for re-issue of a standard passport, which covers most adult renewals, is below. Our guide to Nigeria High Commission passport appointments covers the additional documents for children, name changes and lost passports.

  • Your original Nigerian passport.
  • A printed copy of the passport application form, filled in, dated and signed.
  • A copy of your Nigerian NIN (NIMC number), with details matching your passport in the correct order.
  • A copy of your appointment booking from the NIS appointment portal.
  • A £20 UK postal order payable to the Nigeria High Commission, London.
  • A stamped Royal Mail Special Delivery C4 envelope addressed to yourself.

Buying the postal order and Special Delivery envelope

Both can be bought at a Post Office branch. Every postal order must carry the payee's name, here the Nigeria High Commission, London. The Post Office fee is 12.5 per cent of the face value for orders from £10 to £99.99, which is £2.50 on a £20 order, and is capped at £12.50 for orders from £100, such as the £150 order for a lost or damaged passport. Postal orders expire six months from the date of issue.

Special Delivery Guaranteed postage for the C4 return envelope is sold at the same counter, priced by size and weight, and tracked to delivery.

Contactless renewal: renewing without travelling to London

Contactless renewal allows an eligible adult to capture their face and fingerprints in the NIS Mobile app instead of attending a biometric appointment. The High Commission says the contactless process is not available to applicants under 18 or for a first-time application. According to Vanguard's step-by-step account of the process (8 September 2026), the app checks eligibility once you enter your application ID and reference number, and applicants who are not eligible can return to the portal and book a physical appointment.

The NIS Service Level Agreement (revised April 2026) lists a contactless biometric service fee of $100, in addition to the passport booklet fee. The same account says this fee is charged after the biometrics have been reviewed and the applicant is confirmed eligible.

You then post the old passport, the application forms and payment receipt, the £20 postal order (with your name and telephone number on the back) and a self-addressed C4 Special Delivery envelope to the High Commission at 9 Northumberland Avenue, London WC2N 5BX. Our contactless renewal guide explains the app steps.

Nigerian NIN (NIMC number) registration in Birmingham

The High Commission asks for a copy of your Nigerian NIN (NIMC number) and says it must match the details on your passport in the correct order. NIMC states that Nigerians abroad whose passports have expired must obtain a NIN before renewing, and that Nigerians abroad can enrol free of charge when they travel to Nigeria with a valid passport.

Outside Nigeria, enrolment is carried out by partners that NIMC licenses, most of them private companies. As read on 3 October 2026, NIMC's enrolment centre finder lists six partners at Birmingham addresses: Seamfix (1 Victoria Square, B1 1BD), KnowledgeSquare Foresight (58-60 Westminster Road, Handsworth, B20 3LJ), Deacil Professional Services (82-89 Cecil Street, B19 3SU), Biosec Solutions (321 Birchfield Road, Perry Barr, B20 3BX), Slogani Consults (35 Bull Street, B4 6AF) and Ficoven, whose entry reads "58 to 60 WESTMINISTER ROAD" with no postcode. NIMC does not state on that page that each office is currently operating.

A listed address is not proof of licensing on its own. As read on 2 October 2026, NIMC's diaspora page states that the company operating by the name NIN London at 3rd Floor, Golden Cross House, 8 Duncannon Street, London WC2N 4JF is not licensed by NIMC to enrol Nigerians in the United Kingdom on behalf of NIMC. NIMC's separate list of locations for one partner, Ficoven, includes an entry at 8 Duncannon Street, WC2N 4JF, so an address does not by itself show whether the business operating there enrols under a NIMC licence. Check the name of the company you deal with against the licensed partners on nimc.gov.ng/diaspora, and confirm the centre's address, opening hours and fee with it before travelling.

NIMC's fee schedule for licensed partners' offices outside Africa, approved in December 2019, sets $50 for enrolment and NIN issuance at 16 and over, $40 below 16, $10 for a modification other than date of birth, and $35 for a date-of-birth correction. If your NIN details do not match your passport, our guide to renewing without a NIN explains how the mismatch affects an application.

Coordination for applicants in Birmingham

We do not have an office in Birmingham. We coordinate Nigerian passport renewals remotely for people anywhere in the UK, including the West Midlands, with document checks and arrangements handled by message. NIS requires applicants to appear in person for photograph and biometric capture, so the applicant attends the appointment unless the contactless route is available to them.

Every step can also be completed without us, using the official NIS portals and the High Commission's published requirements, and all official fees are paid directly to NIS and the High Commission.

Common questions

Is there a Nigerian embassy or consulate in Birmingham?

No. The UK government's October 2026 lists of consular offices outside London and of honorary consuls have no Nigerian entry. Routine passport applications are submitted at the Nigeria High Commission, 9 Northumberland Avenue, London WC2N 5BX, where the published submission hours are 9:00am to 1:00pm.

Is there a Nigerian passport intervention in Birmingham in October 2026?

No. Phase 2 runs from 6 to 30 October 2026 in London, Manchester, Cardiff and Aberdeen only, booked through the High Commission's Phase 2 form. Phase 1, which began on 7 September 2026, used the same four cities.

Where was the Birmingham passport intervention in December 2025?

At RCCG (CRA) Perry Barr, 42 Lozells Road, Birmingham B19 2TH, from 3 to 5 December 2025, according to the High Commission's notice. That exercise has ended, and the venue is not part of the 2026 exercise.

Do I have to travel to London to renew my Nigerian passport?

For a routine renewal, yes, unless you book a Phase 2 intervention slot elsewhere while it runs or qualify for contactless renewal. Contactless is available to eligible adults renewing, not to under-18s or first-time applicants, and adds a $100 NIS fee.

Where can I register for a Nigerian NIN (NIMC number) in Birmingham?

As read on 3 October 2026, NIMC's enrolment centre finder lists six licensed partners at Birmingham addresses, including offices in the city centre, Handsworth and Perry Barr. NIMC does not state that each office is currently operating, so check the company against NIMC's licensed partners and confirm the centre's details before travelling.

Do I need to go back to London to collect my passport?

Not normally. The High Commission says there is no physical collection once biometrics are taken; the passport is posted back in your Special Delivery envelope. Only passports Royal Mail could not deliver are held for collection in London.

Where do I buy the postal order and Special Delivery envelope in Birmingham?

At a Post Office branch. A £20 postal order carries a Post Office fee of £2.50, and the payee must be the Nigeria High Commission, London. Special Delivery Guaranteed postage for your C4 return envelope is bought at the same counter.

Sources

Last verified 2 October 2026. Official requirements change; if anything here differs from the official source, the official source is right. Tell us and we will correct it.

Related guides

Get help with this

Message us on WhatsApp, or leave your details and we will message you. We reply within the hour during opening hours.

By sending this you ask us to contact you about your request. We share your name, number and request with our vetted UK-based agent to arrange your quote. Your documents never pass through this website. See our privacy notice.