Nigerian Passport Name Change in the UK After Marriage or Divorce
By Nigerian Docs UK · Facts last verified against official sources on 2 October 2026
Summary
As checked by Nigerian Docs UK against the High Commission’s requirements on 2 October 2026, the Nigeria High Commission in London changes the name on a Nigerian passport only by virtue of marriage or divorce, not by deed poll. After marriage it asks for the marriage certificate, the husband’s signed consent letter and his passport data page, and your Nigerian NIN (NIMC number) must already show the new name.
Independent coordination service. Not the Nigeria High Commission, NIS or NIMC. Official fees are paid to the government directly, and you can complete the process yourself using the official portals linked below.
Can I change the name on my Nigerian passport in the UK?
Yes, if the change follows a marriage or a divorce. On its requirements page, the Nigeria High Commission in London (often referred to as the Nigerian embassy in London) states: “Change of name can only be done by virtue of Marriage or Divorce.” The same page states: “Change of name by deed poll is not acceptable.” A UK deed poll is therefore not accepted by the High Commission for this purpose.
The High Commission lists the change-of-name documents under the re-issue of a standard passport. The new name is issued in a new passport booklet, which you apply and pay for on the Nigeria Immigration Service (NIS) portal and then submit at the High Commission, as with a renewal. NIS’s own passports page calls the service “Change of Data due to Change in Marital Status”.
NIS’s passports page also describes other changes, such as the addition, deletion or rearrangement of names. The High Commission’s page restricts a change of name to marriage or divorce, so if your change is for another reason, ask the High Commission how it will be treated before you apply or pay.
Documents for a name change after marriage
For a change of name by marriage, the High Commission lists the following, quoted in its own wording, in addition to the general re-issue requirements set out below:
- “Marriage Certificate”
- “Consent Letter signed by the husband”
- “Data page of the husband’s Passport”
- “Applicant’s Valid Passport”
Points to confirm on the marriage documents
The requirements page does not say whether “Applicant’s Valid Passport” means the Nigerian passport being replaced or another current passport, and it does not specify the nationality of the husband’s passport. If your Nigerian passport has expired, or your husband does not hold a Nigerian passport, ask the High Commission which documents it expects before you attend.
The High Commission does not publish a template for the consent letter. As a sample only, to be checked against the High Commission’s current requirement, the letter can give the husband’s full name and passport number, the date and place of the marriage, his consent to his wife’s Nigerian passport being issued in her married name, and his signature and the date.
Documents for returning to your maiden name after divorce
The High Commission also changes a name as a result of divorce, and for that case lists the following, again in its own wording, with the general re-issue requirements:
- “Divorce Certificate”
- “Proof of maiden name, e.g. Passport before marriage”
- “Other valid ID Card bearing maiden name”
The general re-issue requirements that also apply
Because a name change is made through a re-issue, the High Commission’s standard re-issue list applies as well:
- Your original Nigerian passport.
- A printed copy of the filled, dated and signed passport application form.
- A copy of your Nigerian NIN (NIMC number), with the High Commission’s note: “Your NIN must match the details on your passport in correct order”.
- A copy of your appointment booking, made through the Nigeria Immigration Service.
- An administrative fee of £20 by UK postal order payable to the Nigeria High Commission, London, or through the High Commission’s e-payment platform.
- A stamped, self-addressed Royal Mail Special Delivery C4 envelope, so that the passport can be posted back to you. The High Commission says there is “NO physical collection once the biometric has been taken”.
Update your Nigerian NIN (NIMC number) before you apply
Because the High Commission requires your NIN to match the details on your passport in the correct order, and the new passport is issued in the new name, the NIN record needs to show that name before you apply. The same applies when you return to your maiden name after a divorce. Our guide on renewing a Nigerian passport without a Nigerian NIN (NIMC number) explains how to check your NIN record from the UK and how to confirm that a partner is licensed by NIMC.
NIMC’s diaspora fact sheet (updated 18 April 2023) describes modification through a NIMC-licensed partner. You pay for the modification and complete a form on the partner’s website, book an appointment, and attend with the supporting documents, which the fact sheet describes as a “letter of application indicating reasons for amendment/update” and documents such as a marriage certificate. The officer verifies your identity, makes the change and prints a new NIN slip. Your NIN itself stays the same.
The fact sheet says that details other than date of birth can be modified “as many times as required”, so a name changed on marriage can be changed back after a divorce. NIMC’s published lists name a marriage certificate but not a divorce certificate, so ask the partner which documents it accepts before you pay. NIMC’s diaspora fee schedule, approved in December 2019, set $10 for this kind of modification at a partner’s office outside Africa. The fact sheet notes that all fees are subject to review, so confirm the partner’s current price as well.
NIMC’s self-service portal at selfservicemodification.nimc.gov.ng also handles changes of name. For a name change, NIMC’s 2026 FAQs list a court affidavit, a newspaper extract, a marriage certificate (for married women) and another valid means of identification. They state that self-service payments are non-refundable and that a change of name takes 3 to 5 days to reflect on the NIN after approval.
NIMC says modifications cannot be done by proxy, so you take part yourself on either route. Once the change has been made, NIMC says you can download your NIN slip free from its NINAuth app. NIMC’s list of licensed diaspora partners includes the Nigeria High Commission, but the High Commission’s requirements and immigration pages do not describe a NIN modification service, so ask before relying on it.
What NIS asks you to upload on the portal
NIS’s passports page lists the documents to upload online for a change of data due to a change in marital status: a birth certificate from the National Population Commission or a declaration of age from a high court, a state of origin certificate, an application letter, the marriage certificate, a court affidavit, a newspaper publication and the passport data page. The NIS Service Level Agreement (revised April 2026) gives the same list.
The High Commission’s London list does not mention a court affidavit or a newspaper publication. If the portal asks for a document that the High Commission does not list, ask the High Commission about it before your appointment.
Fees for a name change
The passport fee is the same as for a renewal. The NIS Service Level Agreement lists $150 for the 32-page, 5-year booklet and $230 for the 64-page, 10-year booklet, and states that all prices are exclusive of bank charges. In a statement on 11 September 2026, reported by Vanguard and Channels Television, NIS gave the applicable fees as $162 and $242.
The Service Level Agreement also lists a correction of data administrative charge of 30,000 naira. On NIS’s passports page, the instruction to pay a non-refundable administrative charge appears under correction of errors and other changes of name, not under a change in marital status. Neither document says how the charge applies to applications made through the High Commission, so check the total the portal shows before you pay.
| Fee | Amount | Paid to |
|---|---|---|
| NIS passport fee, 32-page, 5-year | $150 plus bank charges (NIS quotes $162) | NIS, in US dollars on the NIS portal |
| NIS passport fee, 64-page, 10-year | $230 plus bank charges (NIS quotes $242) | NIS, in US dollars on the NIS portal |
| High Commission administrative fee | ÂŁ20 | Nigeria High Commission, by UK postal order or e-payment |
| NIN modification of a field other than date of birth, at a partner’s office | $10 (NIMC schedule, December 2019) | The NIMC-licensed partner |
| Royal Mail Special Delivery C4 envelope | Royal Mail rate | Royal Mail |
How long the passport stage takes
The NIS Service Level Agreement, revised in April 2026, gives the timeline for a standard passport correction of data as “21 Days after Successful Enrolment (IF NLO)”, and defines NLO as “No Local Objection”. The same document’s entry for fresh applications gives “Fresh Application/ Change of Data: 42 days after Successful Enrolment”, so it states two different periods for a change of data. Both are NIS’s published service standards, not a promise of when a passport will be issued, and the NIN modification has to be completed before either period begins.
What can hold up a name change
- A Nigerian NIN (NIMC number) that still shows the old surname, or shows the names in a different order from the application.
- No consent letter signed by the husband, or no copy of his passport data page.
- For a divorce, no identity document in the maiden name. The High Commission asks for “Other valid ID Card bearing maiden name” and does not give examples.
- Arriving without the stamped C4 Special Delivery envelope, since there is no collection after biometrics.
The order to work in
You can complete each of these steps yourself.
- Decide the name you want on the passport, with its exact spelling and order.
- Modify your NIN record through a NIMC-licensed partner or NIMC’s self-service portal, and wait until a new NIN slip shows the new name.
- Apply on the NIS portal with your names exactly as they appear on the NIN, pay the passport fee and book your appointment.
- Gather the marriage or divorce documents and the general re-issue documents, including the ÂŁ20 fee and the C4 envelope.
- Attend for biometric capture. The passport is posted back to you in your envelope.
Common questions
Can I use a UK deed poll to change the name on my Nigerian passport?
No. The Nigeria High Commission in London states: “Change of name by deed poll is not acceptable.” It changes a name on a Nigerian passport only by virtue of marriage or divorce.
Does my husband need a Nigerian passport?
The High Commission asks for the data page of the husband’s passport and a consent letter signed by him. The page does not specify the passport’s nationality, so if your husband is not Nigerian, confirm with the High Commission which passport it will accept before your appointment.
Do I have to change my Nigerian NIN (NIMC number) before the passport?
Yes. The High Commission requires your NIN to match the details on your passport in the correct order, so the new name must be on your NIN record before you apply. A NIMC-licensed partner or NIMC’s self-service portal can make the change, and your NIN itself stays the same.
How do I return to my maiden name on my Nigerian passport after divorce?
Change your NIN record back first. Then apply for a re-issue with the divorce certificate, proof of your maiden name such as your passport from before the marriage, and another valid ID card in your maiden name, together with the general re-issue documents.
Can I change my name at the October 2026 intervention exercise?
The High Commission’s notice for Phase 2 of the Special Passport Intervention Exercise, from 6 to 30 October 2026 in London, Manchester, Cardiff and Aberdeen by appointment, lists the old passport booklet as “mandatory for all reissues, renewals, or change of data”. It does not mention the change-of-name documents, so bring them, with your NIN already updated.
Can I change my name through the contactless route?
Neither the High Commission’s contactless requirements nor the contactless entry in the NIS Service Level Agreement mention a change of name or its documents. Ask the High Commission before choosing that route for a name change.
How much does it cost to change the name on a Nigerian passport in the UK?
The NIS passport fee is $150 (32-page, 5-year) or $230 (64-page, 10-year), exclusive of bank charges, and NIS quotes $162 and $242 as the amounts payable. The NIS Service Level Agreement also lists a correction of data administrative charge of 30,000 naira but does not say how it applies to applications made in London. The High Commission charges £20, and NIMC’s December 2019 schedule set $10 for a NIN name modification at a licensed partner’s office.
Can someone else update my Nigerian NIN (NIMC number) for me?
No. NIMC says modifications cannot be done by proxy, so you take part yourself, whether at a licensed partner or on NIMC’s self-service portal.
Sources
- Nigeria High Commission London: requirements for e-passport (change of name by marriage or divorce, deed poll not acceptable, NIN must match, Phase 2 intervention notice)
- Nigeria High Commission London: immigration services (NIN section)
- Nigeria High Commission London: e-payment platform
- Nigeria Immigration Service: passports (change of data due to change in marital status, correction of errors)
- Nigeria Immigration Service: Service Level Agreement, revised edition, April 2026
- Nigeria Immigration Service: press release on passport fee review, diaspora fees unchanged (28 August 2025)
- Vanguard: NIS extends UK passport exercise, statement on fees (11 September 2026)
- Channels Television: NIS extends UK passport intervention to 3 October, fees quoted (11 September 2026)
- NIMC: diaspora enrolment and licensed partners
- NIMC: diaspora services fact sheet (updated 18 April 2023), section 15 on modification
- NIMC: schedule of fees for diaspora services (approved December 2019)
- NIMC: self-service modifications
- NIMC: FAQs 2026 (self-service name change, proxy rule)
- NIMC: download your NIN slip from the NINAuth app
Last verified 2 October 2026. Official requirements change; if anything here differs from the official source, the official source is right. Tell us and we will correct it.
Related guides
Get help with this
Message us on WhatsApp, or leave your details and we will message you. We reply within the hour during opening hours.